Friday, 25 September 2020

Colombia To Play U.S. In Round of 16 at Women’s World Cup


(TODAY COLOMBIA) The United States women’s national team will play Colombia in the round of 16 at the 2015 Women’s World Cup.

The game will be held on Monday, June 22 at 8:00 p.m. ET.

The U.S. advanced to the knockout stage by winning Group D, which had been considered the “Group of Death.” USA defeated Australia 3–1, drew with Sweden 0–0 and beat Nigeria 1–0 to win the group.

- paying the bills -

Colombia finished in third in Group F, drawing 1–1 with Mexico, beating France 2–0 and losing to England 2–1.

If the U.S. beats Colombia, it will face either China or Cameroon in the quarterfinals. The U.S. and China have not played in the World Cup since the 1999 final, which the United States won on penalty kicks.

Potential semifinal opponents for the U.S., should it advance to that round, include Germany and France. Japan, which defeated the U.S. in a penalty shootout in the final of the 2011 tournament, is on the other side of the bracket and won Group C with a 3–0–0 record.

At the 2011 World Cup in Germany the U.S. and Colombia were in the same group. The USA won that match, 3–0.

- paying the bills -
- paying the bills -
"Rico" is the crazy mind behind the Q media websites, a series of onlinemagazines that includes Rico brings his special kind of savvy to online marketing. His websites are engaging, provocative, informative and sometimes off the wall, where you either like or you leave it. The same goes for him, like him or leave him.There is no middle ground. No compromises, only a passion to present reality as he sees it!

Related Articles

Former Colombia’s President Uribe placed under house arrest over witness tampering

(QCOLOMBIA) Colombia's highest court last week ordered that former President Alvaro...

Controversy in Colombia over the arrival of the US military

The arrival of US troops in Colombia has always caused controversy...


Let's Keep This Going!

To be updated with all the latest news and information about Colombia and Latin America.

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.